Showing posts from February, 2011

Vegan Rice a Roni Spicy Spanish Rice

A few flavors of rice a roni that I know of, are vegan. Spanish and Fried Rice I believe. Herb and Butter is vegetarian. Or so it reads as vegetarian from the ingredients list. This simple recipe uses the spanish flavor and some canned jalapeno tomatoes to make a spicy and sweet delicious vegan meal quick and easy. 1 box rice a roni spanish rice 1 can jalapeno diced tomatoes 1 can pinto beans 1/4 cup frozen broccoli 1/2 cup frozen collard greens (mustard greens, kale or spinach are okay too) 1 tsp olive oil Add the specified amount of water to a pot according to rice a roni direction. Ignore the junk about sauteing first. Just add the called for amount of water, your 1 tsp olive oil, the seasoning packet and the rice to a medium sized pot. Cover and set on high to bring to a boil. When it comes to a boil lower heat to maintain a good simmer. Let simmer for 10 minutes. Add broccoli, greens, beans and tomatoes. Continue to simmer covered on medium low heat. Stirring every

Hormel Vegetarian (Vegan) Chili

The label says 'vegetarian' and it is, but little does Hormel know that their meat free chili is actually vegan. It's got a pretty short ingredients list (by today's standards) and they all seem pretty wholesome. Hot peppers, tomato, beans and yummy delicious textured vegetable protein. I'm not kidding. textured vegetable protein is both yummy and delicious. it's not the most eloquent name, but it tastes good and has a nice mouth-feel. they should call it vegetable derived faux meat or just vegetable meat. yeah, i bet people would like that. vegetable meat sounds really good. Anyway, i cooked and tried hormel brand vegetarian (vegan) chili for the first time today and I thought it was pretty darn good. It was a very mild chili as I expected from a mass produced product. Still it had a nice chili flavor. It was just mild. Easily rectified with a few dashes of hot sauce if you prefer. After tasting it plain over rice, I also added nutritional yeast to mine. No

More Evil Yogurts

apparently yoplait and la yogurt also contain gelatin (ground up animal bones) and therefore are very much not vegetarian. what a sad world we live in that simple dairy products are not vegetarian. we must email cheese companies and inspect yogurt labels and scrutinize rices mixes and vegetables soups. just because it doesn't indicate meat in the name or product doesn't mean it's vegetarian. that's kinda sad. vegetable soup, really? c'mon. milk, soy, egg and wheat ingredients are clearly marked in bold on contents lists. when will animal and animal derived products be marked the same way? probably never. but they certainly should be.